Starting studying - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Canada van Mark Vries - WaarBenJij.nu Starting studying - Reisverslag uit Hamilton, Canada van Mark Vries - WaarBenJij.nu

Starting studying

Door: markdevries

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mark

16 September 2010 | Canada, Hamilton

Long time no see,

It’s time for my new blog, after a crashed laptop, buying a new one, attending 9 lectures, visiting numerous drinks, meeting a lot of new lovely people, being soaked by the rain for the first time, and having hit my head for already hundreds of times, I’m writing you this blog!

The last two weeks passed by in a blink of an eye. In one word I can describe them as: busy!
Around two weeks ago my, self organized, intro started and the real student life in Hamilton was born. 5 Days later it was time for a small family reunion when my parents visited the waterfall city of Canada. There visit started hilariously for me, shocking for my parents, why? Come on, you know my mother, she’s like all mothers, and you know me: I like to shock people :D
The first thing we did together was visiting a beer store. After ordering 12 cases of beer my mother had no idea what was happening. I paid it and I loaded it on a car, or better to say, three cars, to bring it back to our small limousine. My mother was searching for air, she could hardly breath by the thing she saw, 12 cases of beer, spending 355 dollar on beer? What is wrong with you dad, please say something, please tell him that this is ridiculous, you can’t do that! You can not buy SO much beer! Hiddo (dad) DO something! I started laughing and explained that we had to drop the beer of at some different places of friends of mine. Finally, time to breath again for my mom!

The next day it was time to visit an Amish market. On our way we already have seen some Amish people passing by on there vehicles with one or two horse power. Seeing the clothing of the Amish it feels like home, they don’t look that different from people living at the Velue! (close to my parents place).

The day passed by and the next we went to the Niagara falls! Unbelievable, UN-believable, the power of nature. Imagine a waterfall, multiply the water with a million and it might cover about 10% of what you’re seeing there. Millions of liters of water are falling down every second. While standing next to the Canadian Horse Shoe I felt that the first step of my goal was achieved: going abroad! The next step will be impressing Canadian students with the knowledge of this Tilburg University student.

After the Niagara falls trip the study really started. Monday 8.30 a.m. till 10 p.m. Oeps, I’m not used to these times, though I managed it and attended all lectures. The same for the rest of the week by the way. I have to admit, there is a huge difference between courses, professors and students in Canada and in the Netherlands. Some courses are too easy to follow, no challenge, no satisfaction so after one week I switshed 4 out of 5 courses. After some research, visiting many lectures who where not mine, asking around and emailing professors I’ve selected 5 of the most tough courses of this semester. Time to test my Tilburg University knowledge compared to 2 year MBA students at DeGroote Business School. Next to the fact that many professors are referring to Canadian companies which are completely unknown for me, they also refer to many news articles most of the time involving Canadian or US news. Fortunately my Asset of being European is also valued high. I can’t hardly wait for the next lectures to come! In this first week with already 2 elevator pitches I found out that the study in Canada will be a real challenge!

  • 17 September 2010 - 10:50

    Erik:

    Aaah broertje je hebt de oorzaak van de economische crisis gevonden. Het niveau van die gasten in het westen is gewoon te laag:P In Vaassen is het weer afgelopen met de rust. De biertransporteurs zijn namelijk als het goed is wel weer in het dorp waar het WK woodcarving momenteel word gehouden (populaire sport in Canada & US?). Succes met de uitdagingen!

    Groetjes

  • 17 September 2010 - 12:41

    Pa:

    Hoi Mark.
    Wat dacht je, ma heeft nu voldoende kennis van het Engels, ik doe er maar geen vertaling meer bij?
    We zijn net thuis, na een prima reis, alleen de weg naar het vliegveld in Toronto was erg lastig voor de garmin.
    Het was gister wel heel erg nat in Toronto, dan is het weer goed om terug te gaan.

  • 17 September 2010 - 13:37

    Opa De Vries:

    Net als je moeder, begrijpen oma en ik hier ook geen hol van. Als het mogelijk is graag de volgende keer met onder titeling. Maar de studie moet er niet onder leiden.

    Groetjes Opa.

  • 17 September 2010 - 14:28

    Mark De Vries:

    Voor alle Nederlanders: excuses voor het Engelse taalgebruik. Spoedig zal ik een vertaling typen. Gister had ik daar helaas geen tijd voor, hopelijk heb ik volgende week meer tijd...

  • 18 September 2010 - 09:53

    Clariska:

    Uhm? Mijn reactie is foetsie? Nou ja anyway, leuke update! ;)

  • 18 September 2010 - 09:53

    Clariska:

    Aah ok, nu doet ie het wel ;)! Sorry voor de spam, berichtjes plaatsen schijnt moeilijk te zijn voor mij :P

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Mark

Actief sinds 13 Aug. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 166
Totaal aantal bezoekers 23060

Voorgaande reizen:

20 December 2010 - 17 Februari 2011

Backpack trip Central America

16 Augustus 2010 - 20 December 2010

Avonturen aan de andere kant van de grote plas

Landen bezocht: